IGNORED

Upgrade Path

tomreece

I'm new to MTB and am already addicted. My first bike is a Specialized Rockhopper. I've ridden it 450 miles so far and I like it a lot even though it's entry level.

I am trying to avoid upgrade-itis but I often consider the following 3 options:

1. Upgrade the Rockhopper. I've looked at a new fork, a dropper, and going 1x. However, most things I read online advise against upgrading such a cheap bike.
  2. Buy a nicer hardtail like a Trek Roscoe 8 that caught my eye the last time I was in the shop. The nicer components (fork, dropper, 1x) come with the bike.
  3. Buy a full suspension. It seems like everyone else has this. The problem is.. which one. It's hard to fathom spending so much money on a bicycle. Before I bought mine, I thought $700 was a lot...ohh how naive I was.

No matter what, I am riding the Rockhopper until the end of the year and possibly into next year. Until then, I've set in my head that I will not upgrade anything unless it breaks.

What do you guys think of my rambling?

Edited by tomreece
fixing word salad

11 minutes ago, tomreece said:

I'm new to MTB and am already addicted. My first bike is a Specialized Rockhopper. I've ridden it 450 miles so far and I like it a lot even though it's entry level.

I am trying to avoid upgrade-itis but I often consider the following 3 options:

1. Upgrade the Rockhopper. I've looked at a new fork, a dropper, and going 1x. However, most things I read online advise against upgrading such a cheap bike.
  2. Buy a nicer hardtail like a Trek Roscoe 8 that caught my eye the last time I was in the shop. The nicer components (fork, dropper, 1x) come with the bike.
  3. Buy a full suspension. It seems like everyone else has this. The problem is.. which one. It's hard to fathom spending so much money on a bicycle. Before I bought mine, I thought $700 was a lot...ohh how naive I was.